Ack Art Gallery Expos

Earlier this year,the Auckland Art Gallery was one of the 12 shortlisted buildings in the Culture category for the World Architecture Festival held in Singapore. Not only that, but it was also named winner for building o the year. (yay gallery!)
Because of this (and because I practically live next to it so I spend my “bored” hours there) I though it might be a god idea to tell you all what’s currently happening in the gallery for those interested on visiting.

Fragile Beauty

In the Mezzanine hall you can find a series of Japanese prints created in a style called Ukiyo-e which is pretty much a style of painting by stamping a carved piece of wood into a canvas, if you think about it, it is one on the oldest and maybe first methods of printing. (ha…and I though I would remember anything from my art classes at university) The whole exhibition is comprised of six themes, from landscapes, to depictions of war and theater.

Kodachrome Presents

This is actually a photographic exhibition in the second floor terrace of the gallery and it features the work of artist Mladen Bizumic as he marks the relationship between colour film in 1935 and the legacy of Kodachrome’s 12-colour palette after the company Eastman Kodak filled for bankruptcy on 2012. What really stroked me of the exhibit was how the colored acrylic holder are placed against the foliage of the Albert park (not sure if this is meant to be or just luck)

and last but not least is Kangaroo Crew

developed in collaboration with Indigenous Aussie artist Gordon Hookey, from the Waanyi people. This is  great option for people with little children (or little adults as well…I had a blast) It features a animation and artwork from The Sacred Hill a narrative created by Hookey and a workshop section to create your own Kangaroo Mask.

Hope you enjoy this and let me know if you ever visit any of these exhibits.
See you next time.

