My life in cardboard boxes

Since the moment I was born until I came to New Zealand, I’ve always lived in the same house, same neighbourhood, same room. I’ve never needed or wanted to move. This is why it’s still weird to think how in the last year I moved house three times already. To my grief I’ve also realised how much Sh#t (Pardon Le french) I’ve gathered in so little time, we moved almost every 6 months since I’ve arrived, the first time we just called a taxi to help us with our luggage, but now I feel we need to call a moving truck to help us out.

tumblr_n2z2hqoCxr1s8ou8so1_1280

When you become a traveler… someone who decides to pack their bag and move half across the world you learn that you can fit your life in a bag or two, you pack light, the essentials. You know that wherever you end up with you have what you really need, the rest comes later. That bag can be filled and emptied many times and each time you can fill it with different things, but you are still fitting your life in that bag. I’ve always consider myself a citizen of the world, I knew since I was little that I was going to travel and leave home and jump from one place to another,this is why it almost bothers me that I’ve gathered so much S### it looks like Im starting to get stuck in New Zealand and it feels disturbing. I need to purge myself.

Le Boyfriend and I have decided to move once again, this time to an empty apartment (in NZ you can rent places that comes already furnished or semi-furnished, proTIP for backpackers and newcomers) We know this might bring some headaches since will have to spend some money and decided how we want to “decorate it” but at least we know we are moving somewhere that in a few months will look like we wanted to, how own look n’ feel (and again this is making me chain myself to one place)

I wonder if this time I will be able to move out with out forgetting half of my things life last time. Wish me luck.

The only dream that’s more of a possibility is an empty apartment full of dreams and dancing

Jules.-

[Spanish Version]

Desde el momento en que nací hasta que me vine a Nueva Zelanda, siempre viví en la misma casa, el mismo barrio, la misma habitación. Nunca necesite o quería mudarme. Por esta razón me resulta tan extraño pensar cómo en el último año me mude de casa tres veces ya. Para mi pesar me di cuenta de cuánta M###da (Pardon Le francés) acumule en tan poco tiempo, nos mudamos cada casi 6 meses desde que llegue, la primera vez que solo llamamos un taxi para que nos ayude con nuestro equipaje, pero ahora siento que tenemos que llamar a un camión de mudanzas para pasar todo.

Cuando uno se convierte en un viajero … alguien que decide empacar sus bolsos y moverse hacia la otra mitad del mundo, uno aprende que puede adaptarse su vida en un bolso o dos, a empacar ligero, lo esencial. No importa en donde termine ya tener lo que realmente necesitas, el resto viene después. Esa bolsa se ​​llena y se vacía varias veces y cada vez que puede llenar con mil cosas diferentes, siempre las dimensiones son las mismas…un bolso. Siempre me considere una ciudadana del mundo, desde chica sabía que iba a viaja, salir de casa y saltar de un lugar a otro, es por eso que casi me molesta haber acumulado tantas boludeses, pareciera que me estoy empezando a arraigar a un lugar y me perturba un poco. Necesito empezar a limpiar.

Le novio y yo hemos decidido mudarnos nuevamente , esta vez a un apartamento vacío (en Nueva Zelanda se pueden alquilar lugares que ya viene amueblados o semi-amueblado , Protip para mochileros y los recién llegados) Sabemos que esto podra traer algunos dolores de cabeza ya que tendremos que gastar algo de dinero y decidir cómo queremos “decorarlo”, pero al menos sabemos que donde nos estamos mudamos en algunos meses se verá como queríamos, nuestra propia visión del departamento (y otra vez esto suena a que me estoy encadenando a un lugar)

Solo me pregunto si esta vez voy a ser capaz de mudarme sin olvidarme la mitad de mis cosas como última vez. Deseenme suerte.

El unico sueño que es mas que una posibilidad es un departamento vacio lleno de suenos y bailes

6 thoughts on “My life in cardboard boxes

  1. An empty place is better than a place with furniture.

    Usually with a furnished place, the rent is more expensive because you are renting the furniture. It can be tricky to re-arrange the furniture to suit you. If you can buy furniture, you can sell it afterwards. Make sure you hit up TradeMe! There are some great deals to be found there.

    There is so much potential with an empty place and you’re right, you can make it “your own”.

    One thing that would be good to have in a rental is a fridge. A fridge can be very difficult to move. We once lived in an apartment and I remember when we had to move our very heavy fridge down 2 flights of stairs. We put a mattress at the bottom of the stairs in case it all went horribly wrong. I am happy to say it went fine.

    Like

    • Genie you are slowly becoming my kiwi godmother!
      Thankfully the apartment comes with all whiteware, so no moving fridges for this one!!
      I still have to move three different types of juicers… who has so many types of juicers?!

      Like

  2. Como me gustaría estar ahí para ayudarte a decorar ese departamento pero confío plenamente en tu buen gusto y potencial para hacerlo. Si bien siempre viviste en la misma casa , viste muchos cambios , desde la pintura de las paredes, hasta renovar mesas y sillas. Todo vale pero lo único que importa es lo que vivis día tras día , el resto son simples muebles ,por eso si te olvidás de alguno, a quien le importa , quizás está bueno que asi sea, asi tenes espacio para Bailar !!

    Like

  3. Cada vez que Diógenes pasaba por el mercado se reía porque le causaba mucha gracia y le hacía feliz ver cuántas cosas había en el mercado que él no necesitaba, es decir rico no es el que más tiene sino el que menos necesita, es decir mano ocupada mano perdida

    Like

Comments are closed.