Five Māori Painters

You might remember… (or if not click….HERE) that one of my New Years resolution was “More museums” so last weekend I decided to own up to my promise and went, once again, to the Auckland Art Museum.
I can spend the entire post talking about how I (24 year old female) spent the majority of the time reading a children book and “painting” my own Kangaroo Mask with 5 year old kids. But I rather invite you all to go and see the Five Māori Painters exhibition.

_DSC1094

The exhibition features the work of Māori artists Kura Te Waru Rewiri, Robyn Kahukiwa, Emily Karaka, Saffronn Te Ratana, Star Gossage and their insight on the present day Māori world. It also helps you see the evolution of  Māori art, from carvings and painting on Hoe (paddles) and heke (rafters) to contemporary painting and sculptures.

After a year in the country, it was nice to see a more “modern” view on the Māori culture, usually everything I found on Māori art it’s quite classic”so it was quite refreshing seeing (for example) a gigantic name-tree in middle of the room.
Though Im not sure what to think about the Picasso “Guernica” rendition, this does not mean that the artist is not talented, its just that I’ve seen so many versions of it that it was not as striking to me .

Anyways…please let me know your thoughts on the exhibition. If you want more information go to the Auckland Art Museum web page.

Jules.-

 

[Spanish Version]

Puede que recuerden… (o si no, clickeen AQUÍ ….) que uno de mis resoluciones de año nuevo fue “Más museos” por eso el fin de semana pasado me decidí a mantener mi promesa y fui, una vez más, al Museo de Arte de Auckland. Puedo pasar todo el post hablando sobre cómo yo (una chica de 24 años) pasé la mayor parte del tiempo leyendo un libro para niños y armando mi propia Máscara de Canguro con chicos de 5 años. Pero preferiría invitarlos a ir a ver la exposición “Cinco artistas maoríes”

La exposición muestra el trabajo de los artistas maoríes Kura Te Waru Rewiri, Robyn Kahukiwa, Emily Karaka, Saffronn Te Ratana, Estrella Gossage y su visión sobre el mundo de los maoríes en la actualidad. También esta creado de forma que se puede ver la evolución del arte maorí, desde tallados y pinturas sobre Hoe (remos) y Heke (canoas) a esculturas y pinturas contemporáneas.

Después de un año en el país, fue me gusto mucho ver una visión más “moderna” de la cultura maorí, por lo general todo lo que encontré en el arte maorí es muy “clásico”, así que fue muy refrescante ver (por ejemplo) un gigantesco árbol con nombres en medio de la habitación. No estoy segura, sinembergo, que pensar sobre la interpretación de uno de los artistas del “Guernica” de Picasso, esto no significa que el artista no tenga talento, es sólo que ya vi tantas versiones de la obra que no me fue tan sorprendente.

De todas formas … cuentenme que les pareció la exposición. Y si quieren leer un poco más de la expo, vayan a la página del Museo de Arte de Auckland.

