Failing at sport (Color run)

If you knew me, you would know I’m not the one for sports, never was (my own mother calls me jandal, since I’m useless for sports) Countless times I set myself to go to the gym, star a new activity,  MOVE, and countless times I failed at it. Last Sunday was meant to be different, was the day I was to run my first 5k…but then again, I failed.

20140125-_DSC0363

The story actually began when I got home early from work one day, really tired, and in a really bad mood. Le boyfriend was home too, playing video games with some of his mates from Argentina. To make it short, when he plays he gets really into it, and most of the times he shouts and since he was wearing his noise cancelling headphones, he shouted louder and couldn’t hear me asking him to lower his voice . So, instead of ripping the keyboard against his head, I put on my gym clothes, stepped into the treadmill put some music on and ran to blow some steam, and ran and ran and ran, until I realized there had been and hour since I started.

I heard about the “Color race” a few days after, 5k, no time limit, no age restriction, for runners, walkers, even dancer, each km with a color station, were volunteers throw colored cornstarch at you. It felt fun and it looked like you didn’t have to commit to it that much, and two days before I done 5ks, so I signed in.

You what?!  – Yes, I signed in and trained for it. I actually trained 2 to 3 times a week and last Thursday I timed myself and realized that I actually lowered my initial timing by 10 minutes. Yay me! But then…the universe happens.

Turns out, yesterday (Monday) was Auckland Anniversary… happy b-day AKL btw, and the people from Auckland transport decided it was a good idea to cancel all trains, and the buses that “replaced” those trains didn’t get to where the race was held, to pretty much I had a 2.30hs drive by bus to get there and the same back, it was all complicated and in the end I ended up not going…. see why I fail at life?

I had planned for this post to be completely different, with fun photos of painted people, with success stories, with tips and facts of the run, so here are some images of what it could have been. Here is the start line…. (see if you can find me) that unicorn/pig men was SUPER FUN!

1689086_646869068693257_664851537_n

And here is when I got to the green station….. that girl totally stole my photo… oh and I borrowed some cat ears for this one.

1378617_646869128693251_1623183856_n

And here is the party and the end of the race… clearly I won.. thats why an awesome stranger is holding me in his shoulders.

1554548_646871918692972_1312172607_n

Hit like if you think I look like a bobble head doll and let me know in the comments if you were able to go to the run or if you ever failed at something so bad like me.

Jules .-

 

[Spanish version]

Si me conocieran, sabrían que no soy muy avida para el deporte, nunca lo fui (mi propia madre me dice Ojota, porque no sirvo para el deporte) Miles de veces intenté ir al gimnasio, anotarme en clases, MOVERME y miles de veces falle. Este Domingo iba a ser la excepción, iba a ser el dia que corriese mis primero 5k….pero una vez más, falle.
La historia, en realidad empezó hace unos meses cuando llegue temprano y muy malhumorada del trabajo. El novio, también estaba en casa, jugando a los jueguitos con algunos amigos de argentina, y cuando cuando juega…usualmente grita, y como tenía puestos sus auriculares, gritaba más alto, y no podía escuchar cuando le pedí que baje la voz. Así que en vez de partirle el teclado en la cabeza, me cambie y me fui al gimnasio, puse música, me subí a la cinta y corri, y corri y corri hasta que me di cuenta que habia pasado una hora.
Escuche de la “Color run” unos dias despues, 5 kilometros, sin limite de tiempo ni edad, se puede correr, caminar o bailar si lo queres. Por cada kilómetro hay una estacion de color, donde voluntarios te tiran con polvos de colores. Sonaba divertida y no parecía que habia que comprometerse mucho, asi que me anoté.
Hiciste que?! – Si, me anoté y me entrené para ella. Realmente me entrene 2 a 3 veces a la semana y el Jueves que pasado me tome el tiempo y descubrí que habia bajamos 10 minutos del tiempo inicial. Pero después…el universo se metió.
Resulta que ayer, (Lunes) fue el aniversario de Auckland, por cierto Feliz cumple AKL, y la gente del Auckland transport decidió que era una gran idea cancelar todos los trenes. Y los colectivos que reemplazan a esos trenes tampoco llegaban al lugar donde iba a ser las carrera. Asi que basicamente tenia 2.30hs de viaje para llegar al lugar y 2.30hs de vuelta, todo se complicó demasiado y al final, no fui a la carrera… ahora ven porque fallo en la vida?
En fin, tenia planeado hace días que este posteo fuera diferente, con fotos de la carrera, gente disfrazada llena de polvo de colores, con tips e historias de lo que fue, asi que aca hay algunas imágenes de lo que podria haber sido. Aca estoy en la salida… (fijense si me pueden encontrar)
Y aca estoy en la estación verde…. esa chica claramente me robo la foto…. ah y tambien consegui unas orejas de gato para esta.
Y aca estoy en la fiesta que se hizo al final de la carrera… como pueden ver game…por eso un extraño me alzo en sus hombros.

Denme un “me gusta” si les parece que parezco unos de los muñecos de animales que estan arriba de los colectivos o escriban en los comentarios si pudieron ir a la carrera o si alguna vez fallaron en algo que realmente querían hacer.

2 thoughts on “Failing at sport (Color run)

  1. Mi querida Ojota mia…. la próxima te anotas en la de Auckland asi no viajas o vas corriendo jje. Igualmente vale el esfuerzo !! vamos por los 7,5 km !!

    Like

  2. Como siempre el humor te salva .
    Reirse de uno mismo ,solo los inteligentes,
    Recuerdo entre mis fallas mas dolorosas un barrilete para mis hijas que esperaban que su padre ,que diseña
    maquinas , les hiciera ganar una supuesta competencia en el dia de la famila , se partio en dos con el primer
    viento .
    Beso

    Like

Comments are closed.