Emerging Pixels….FAIL

I get weekly emails from a website called Concrete playground and Big Little City with events and things to do in the city. In one of those emails I saw there was an interactive exhibition in the Aotea centre called “Emerging pixels” and I thought it was a good idea to go, maybe take a few photos even some videos and do a blog post. I guess I wasn’t expecting it to be a total fail.

The exhibition consists of a gigantic screen that has attached an Xbox kinetic accessory that captures movement and translate it into image, different movements, different the image. The other screen on the other hand had the same premise but was sound activated.

So one day that I was able to leave work a bit early, I went back to the city, grab my camera and walked to the Aotea square. The place was empty, not a soul walked by, the exhibition was on the 2nd floor, and as expected I ended up on the 5th one, the 3.4, 1.8 until I finally reached the 2nd floor.

I put down my purse, searched for the kinetic sensor, stood in front of it and waved… nothing… just a  white flickering line, so I jumped… nothing, stood a few steps away… nothing. I started jumping and running from one side to the other of the room… nothing.  “Easy now… just breathe”

I thought “Ok.. maybe this is the voice activated one” so I shouted, sang, whistle, did cartwheels while clapping and shouting… nothing. I would have continued all day if it weren’t for the security guard that came after a few minutes and said “Miss, I’m gonna need to ask you to leave”

I don’t know if the screen was broken, shut down or if I was doing something wrong, but I f I had a rating system, I would rate this exhibition an EPIC FAIL. Please let me know know if you went and in worked or if you were on the same boat as me. Jules.-

[Spanish version]

Una vez por semana al menos recibo mails de Concrete Playground y Big Little City, dos páginas con eventos y cosas para hacer en la ciudad. En uno de esos mails, lei que en el Aotea Square habia una exposicion digital llamada “Emerging pixels” (Pixeles emergentes) y me pareció una gran idea poder ir, jugar un rato, sacar un par de fotos, tal vez filmar un mini video y hacer un posteo para el blog. Lo que no me imaginé es que toda la experiencia iba a ser un fiasco.

La exhibición consiste en unas pantallas gigantes que tienen instalado el accesorio de la Xbox kinetic que captura movimiento, cuando el sensor capta algún movimiento lo traduce en una imagen pixelada que podía verse en la pantalla, a diferentes movimientos y personas, diferentes la imagen formada. La otra pantalla por otro lado mantenía la misma premisa pero se activaba por sonido.

Así que aproveche un dia que pude salir más temprano de la oficina, viaje al centro, agarre mi camara y me fui hasta el Aotea Centre. El lugar estaba completamente vacio, no habia nadie, ni siquiera en el café de la entrada; la exhibición estaba en el piso 2 pero me perdí y termine en el piso 5, 3.4, 1.8 y finalmente llegue al piso 2.

Me descolgué la cartera, busque el sensor de la “Kinetic”, me pare enfrente y salude… no paso nada; solamente una línea parpadeante blanca, así que salte… nada, me movi mas atras… nada, empeze a saltar de un lado al otro, corrí de un lado de la sala al otro… nada. “Tranquiiila… respira”

Pensé “Ok, tal vez esta es la pantalla que se activa por sonido” asi que grite, cante, silbe, hice un par de medialunas mientras aplaudia… nada. Podria haber seguido todo el dia, si no fuese por el guardia de seguridad que apareció después de unos minutos y me pidió que “Me retirara de las instalaciones”
No se si la pantalla estaba rota, apagada o si yo estaba haciendo algo mal, pero si tuviera un sistema de puntaje, esta exhibición sería un COMPLETO DESASTRE.

