What the F*ck are Cronuts?!

This was said to me today  “Imagine if an american donuts and a french croissant met at a party, dance for a while, flirt, eventually have sex, one got pregnant and they had a delicious jelly/cream filled baby….well…that’s a cronut.” – Wait what?!

Yes, this is the definition of cronut given to me by the girl at the coffee shop when I asked what the hell they were, and I really thought her head was going to explode.. “OMG, You don’t know?!” I guess that was the first sign, and after hearing the “definition” I’ve just should have walked backwards to the door and GTFO (get the f*ck out) But no, I had to be a sarcastic b*tch.. “OMG, NO WAY…give me two, that’s sooo creative” and that they story of how I got two cronuts back home.

_DSC0580

I did my research actually. It all began in New York city and was created by chef Dominique Ansel for Dominique Ansel Bakery  in the same city. It as fried pastry (like a donut) created with a laminated dough (like a croissant), then filled with cream and glazed. And it got really popular, I’m talking crazy people/2.30hs in line/stealing recipes/cronut black market popular, and know it’s here. 

_DSC0583

To be honest I didn’t like them, but yet again, I don’t like donuts. So please if someone have tried them, let me know in the comments what do you think, and what do you think makes people go so crazy about them.

Update 20/01/14: “Now I’m really craving a Cronut…”

 

[Spanish Version]

Hoy escuche esto en un café “Imaginate que una dona americana y una medialuna francesa se conocen en una fiesta, bailan, se tiran onda, tienen sexo, una queda embarazada y tiene un bebe delicioso relleno the crema…bueno…eso es un cronut” – Que?!

Si, esa es la definición que me dieron cuando entre a comprar un café y pregunte que eran los cronuts. Sinceramente creí que le iba a explotar la cabeza. “Ay por dios ¿no sabes que son?” prácticamente me grito mientras le temblaban las pinzas para servir muffins. Imagino que ese fue el primer signo que algo no estaba bien, tendría que haber caminado lentamente para atrás y salir corriendo antes de que se les salieran los ojos de la cara y me revoleara con tazas y muffins. Pero no, tuve que ser tan ácida y sarcástica como siempre y no se me ocurrió mejor idea que acercarme con mi mejor voz de rubia tonta y decirle “No te lo puedo creer! Que creativo….dame dos!”…. y así es como termine con dos cronuts para llevar.

Investigue lo suficiente como para saber que se “inventaron” en Nueva York por la chef Dominique Ansel en la Dominique Ansel Bakery.Básicamente es un bizcocho frito (como una dona) creado con una masa laminada (como una medialuna), rellena con crema y glaseada con azucar. Por alguna razón se volvio super popular, y no hablo de algo simplemente popular, sino de “gente loca/2.30hs en una fila para comprar/ladrones de recetas/ mercado negro de cronut por $200 popular, y ahora llego a auckland.

Para ser sincera, no me gustaron, pero si lo pienso, tampoco me gustan las donas.Asíi que si alguien alguna vez las probo, dejen un mensaje en los comentarios con su experiencia, y que creen que hace que la gente se vuelva tan loca por ellas.

Update 20/01/14: “Como me comeria una Cronut…..”

One thought on “What the F*ck are Cronuts?!

  1. I love croissants more than donuts and I love cronuts. They’re an occasional treat though and I’ve only eaten one in my life. I hope to eat another one day. The one in your photo doesn’t look like it had much filling?

    Like

Comments are closed.